Great Music Compositions During the Classical Era!

During the classical period we see the growing economic power of the middle class and with that a series of changes in the world of art. The enjoyment of sophisticated music was not only for the wealthy and powerful but also a desire of the middle class. Therefore, composers and artists felt the need to increase the availability of public concerts.

Composers such as Ludwig Van Beethoven, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, and Franz Joseph Haydn wrote music to satisfy the taste of more diverse listeners. As a result, music in demand during this period was simpler and less intense. All the works that I selected have a typical characteristic of the Classical Era; they all get soft at some point and fast at another.

This is the first movement of Beethoven’s 5th symphony. It was composed between 1804 and 1808 and first performed in Vienna’s Theater in 1808. While listening, I can sense that Beethoven is trying to tell a story. It sounds like he is trying to express different kinds of emotions that he is experiencing at the same time. I can feel passion, control, character, joy, excitement, victory, power, but at the same time some sadness. The 5th Symphony of Beethoven is one of my favorites from all his works; it is faster than most of his compositions and it is one of the few I can dance with.

This Sonata for Two Pianos was composed by Mozart in 1781 at the age of 25, it was written in Vienna, Austria where he had just recently moved. Interestingly enough, this sonata has been used in the scientific study to test the theory of the Mozart Effect, suggesting that classical music increases brain activity more positively than other kinds of music. While listening to this sonata, I definitely feel positive and calmed. I can also feel joy, strength, and passion. This is one of my favorites from Mozart because it does not make me feel like I want to sleep. I enjoy the rhythm very much. It is not too slow or too scandalous, just the right tune to get me going.

 

This is Piano Concerto No. 11 in D Major composed by Haydn and at the piano we have Kaan Baysal an 11 year old boy. It seems to be unknown where and when Haydn composed Piano Concerto no. 11. I guess he wrote it between 1779 and 1784 in a remote palace in Hungary, that is where his biography says he wrote most of his work. Although I did not find any specific information on where or when it was composed, I found that it was published in 1784. I enjoy very much listening to this outstanding piece of music and I have a lot of admiration for Haydn. While listening to Piano Concerto by Haydn, I get excited, full of positive energy and at the same time relaxed. Like the rest of the classical music pieces, this one has parts that are slow and other ones that are fast.

 

Resources:

Keller, James M. “Haydn: Piano Concerto in D Major, H.XVIII:11.” San Francisco Symphony. N.p., Apr. 2016. Web. 29 June 2016. https://www.sfsymphony.org/Watch-Listen-Learn/Read-Program-Notes/Program-Notes/Haydn-Piano-Concerto-D-major.aspx

“Biography of Mozart.” Wolfgang Amadeus MOZART – Biography of Mozart. N.p., n.d. Web. 29 June 2016. http://www.wolfgang-amadeus.at/en/biography_of_Mozart.php

“Sonata for Two Pianos in D Major (Mozart).” Wikipedia. Wikimedia Foundation, 12 June 2016. Web. 29 June 2016. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sonata_for_Two_Pianos_in_D_major_(Mozart)

Estrella, Espie. “The Role of Music and Composers/ Music’s Role in the Baroque and Classical Periods.” About.com Education. About, Inc., n.d. Web. 29 June 2016. http://musiced.about.com/od/medievalto20thcentury/a/The-Role-Of-Music-And-Composers.htm

5 thoughts on “Great Music Compositions During the Classical Era!”

  1. Beethoven is one of my all time favorite classical composers. He had an amazing talent for bringing together the sounds of many different instruments to create amazing and wonderful symphonies to listen to. The fact that he lost his hearing and was still able to compose only further speaks to his talent. With the loss unfortunately it prohibited him from performing his works himself and only did so a couple of times after the loss. I would have loved to hear his music being performed under his direction. To hear it in the exact way that he would have wanted it would have been a once in a lifetime experience.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know we read about how music wasn’t affected in such drastic changes like the arts were but the rise of middle class made it possible for music to be brought to so many people. Even though it wasn’t a night and day change I think it was a significant change and without it we not have been blessed with such amazing pieces by these composers and musicians. Beethoven is one of my favorites just because I remember my mom and sister practicing his pieces while growing up. I’m glad the music was opened for everyone during this time of Enlightment.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. First, I agree with your remarks about Beethoven’s 5th conveying a sense of power, but also some sort of negative emotion. I would describe it less of sadness, and more evil. It reminds me of some kind of evil power like Darth Vader.

    You also mentioned the Mozart effect. I recall a study published in Nature magazine that seemed to remark that this effect is not well supported by evidence. But I can agree that the song is wonderful. I enjoy most classical piano pieces.

    Study:
    Bridgett, D.J.; Cuevas, J. (2000). “Effects of listening to Mozart and Bach on the performance of a mathematical test”. Perceptual and Motor Skills 90 (3 Pt 2): 1171–1175. doi:10.2466/pms.2000.90.3c.1171. PMID 10939064.

    Like

  4. Without music, the world would be completely different. It’s satisfying in many ways. There are plenty of noises in the world that are unpleasant to the ears but its completely opposite with music. Especially with a Composer like Beethoven. There is something about his works that makes you feel the history and the new coming of his music. I’m sure that he never expected that so many people would be listening to his works in such casual ways but also preform his works as well. It is very universal which is why it can play well with so many people. The movement with music in this period was very much needed. I really enjoyed your post and your thoughts. The need for sophisticated music was very great and if I lived in this era I would have loved to listen to it live.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment